Have A Chat With them

So, I promised you all a write-up on the British Museum. As I started to write it, I realised how many almost identical posts already exist on the Internet, published by other bloggers, detailing exhibits at the British Museum. What I was writing, therefore, was a post which was just about as generic as they come. Returning to the drawing board, I decided to focus on one thing which happened that specific day, whether it be directly tied to the museum itself or not. And so, I produced the following account of a specific 10 mins of Saturday morning.

The British Museum, despite all of its wonderful exhibits and groundbreaking historical discoveries, does have one very, VERY major downfall: it’s flipping boiling! Mix that in with [possibly] the hottest British summer in, like, forever, and you will find yourself stood in the middle of an exhibition room, waving your hand around like a psycho-chicken and saying: ‘Gosh, it’s hot’, in a hopefully-hushed voice [coz British, and consequently socially awkward in public]. Due to the ridiculously high temperatures inside the British Museum, my mum and I decided to step outside for a few minutes, to rejoin the rest of the world in the act of breathing.
* Whoever came up with the idea of breathing was bloody clever, eh? *
We found a stone bench-thing to sit on, and so we did, and discussed the extortionate prices for bottled water being sold just behind us. Still, the length of the line was increasing by the minute, and I can only presume that it was made up wolely of tourists, who must now believe that Londoners are either very rich or good at shoplifting.
No comment.
As we sat talking, a lady with a Welsh acent sat down, turned to us and said: ‘How are you enjoying the museum?’
Uh, what?
This is London. if you’re not familiar with London, let me tell you this first off: we NEVER speak to one another. ever. sure, we hug strnagers on the tube to create space for an extra passenger in rush hour in central London, but talking to one another? You must be joking.

I answered. ‘It’s great – so interesting. How about you?’
Oh my God, I spoke to a stranger without looking idiotic – RESULT! What followed was a very pleasant conversation about London, and why she was here at the museum, and where she was from, and why I liked the museum. Going completely against my London culture was, surprising, really quite nice: it was just a lovely conversation.

It made me think, though. It must be lovely to live in a small community, where talking to a stranger doesn’t really happen, but for a totally different reason: there are no strangers. How safe would you feel living in a village where everyone knows everyone, and where everyone watches out for everyone else? And then, coming to London, I can only thank these people from the bottom of my heart that they bring these ideas [speaking, I mean] to London. It just felt so natural, and friendly, to communicate with a total stranger without the immediate what-if-they’re-a-murderer thought immediately jumping to the forefront of your mind. It was refreshing, even.

It’s difficult to put what I’m trying to say as a moral of the story into words here, but I think you catch my drift. Speak to Welsh people…!

L XX

28 thoughts on “Have A Chat With them

  1. You’re so right, us Londoners can be very unsociable xD – I’ve been to Wales and the people there were exactly like this lady, so friendly and open, they’d invite you into a conversation (in a non creepy way) so naturally, as if it was just part of their culture to be like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Us Londoners should be more like that, I think. It’s a better, more open way to live, and ultimately would lead to more acceptance and an overall positive societal change. X

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, definitely.

        P.S. When I came to reply to this comment, I read mine again cause I kinda forgot what I said and then I saw the comment above mine and I was like what the actual hell. Poor L.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s cool. Well, obviously it’s not but yeah… He’s not a new face around the teen tag, and although he’s a creep, he’s powerless. I intend to keep it that way.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah I guess, I haven’t been around long enough to have that experience – tbh I haven’t even come across a single hater which I’m really surprised about.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love it when strangers smile at me or talk to me! I feel like we’re just so scared to start a conversation but all of us actually would enjoy it if we tried it. It’s so sad still to me that it’s seen as abnormal to just talk to a person you don’t know. That lady sounds wonderful, though πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stranger danger is become ridiculously over the top, and it’s sad. I mean sure, when the creepy guy with a machine gun smiles at you, you freaking run… But seriously, speak to people: you’ll learn so much. I mean, look at us bloggers… We’re basically taking steps to change those stereotypes already πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve had a similar experience!
    I once went to Chennai on a vacation with my family (a big city located to the south of India), and we were shopping(actually mun was) at a really famous store for a kind of sari the south is really famous for. There, I met an American lady who had come to India to attend the ceremonies associated with the birth of her friend’s grandchild. We talked for a good few minutes, and she was so warm and nice to talk to, it was so refreshing!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It definitely is sad! I remember when I was in third or fourth grade, and whenever we went to the mall, I’d make friends with people I met in the food court, or next to us in line. XD

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The only place you really get that these days is when you’re in line for a concert. In that line, something is common between all of the people there: they all like one artist, and that’s beautiful to see

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Well America is an extremely diverse place, so it’s different everywhere but I live in a small area so everyone is pretty friendly towards each other, we’ll offer a smile every so often with strangers and all. My school in particular is so amazing, everyone is so nice to each other. Well, mostly xD
        I’m actually currently at a camp for te high school in my district (I’m still in middle school) and the high school debate people are basically the counsellors, they’re super nice and not bratty at all. But some people are bratty O-o

        Like

  4. I’m from London and now, I live in a small town where everyone knows everyone. I partly live in London so I know what you mean by the whole community thing.It’s weird to think about how communities ca change around the country. Also, I find that the British Muesum is always cold when I go. Maybe the air conditioner is broken or something πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

