In Transition

A quick note to those of you who follow me on Twitter [and if you don’t, why not?]:
I promised you a post on the British Museum, which I visited for the first time yesterday. That post has not been forgotten nor neglected; I just need more time to write it and I wanted to get something out to you all today and post that write-up a little later, rather than leaving this blog empty for the day.

Everyone has one place which never changes. It’s almost like a base: a constant in a life of ever-changing thoughts, people and places. For some, it’s their home, whilst for others like myself, it’s a little more specific – a certain room, for instance. In my case, along with many others I’m sure, this place is my bedroom. For almost as long as I can remember, my room has stayed pretty much exactly the same. Sure, there has been the odd shift around, a new bed at one point long, long ago, but aside from that, my room has remained fairly unchanged for the eleven years I’ve called it mine.
* I used to have a different room, now my sister’s, until I was three *

This Tuesday, I’m getting a new bed. I’m very excited about this, but before you label me as a saddo, allow me to explain. For at least 8 years now, I’ve had a cabin bed. For those of you who don’t know what this is, it’s basically a bunkbed, but without the bottom bunk, providing useful space underneath the bed. The bed was about a metre-and-a-half up, allowing me to have my desk, a chair and my wardrobe underneath it – extremely space-efficient. There was, however, a flaw to this plan which revealed itself as the years went by: as I got taller, I started hitting my head.
Excuse me? No, that’s not why I’m so mad now. RUDE.
No, I started hitting my head on the bottom of the bunk when I got up from my chair, and as the bed was made of metal, frankly, it fucking hurt.
On Tuesday, therefore, i’m getting a ‘normal’ bed – in other words, not a cabin bed -, which will solve my problem re: head-hitting. This is very exciting and even more of a relief, as it removes the pain factor from my room – YAY!

Without sounding needy or self-pitying, my room is absolutely tiny. It’s actually half a room, the other half being my sister’s bedroom, divided off by a partitioning wall with a gap that serves as a doorway [without the door]. Due to this, the addition of a proper bed has introduced some logistical issues, i.e it won’t bloody fit. Due to this, I’m having to rearrange my room, and then say goodbye to a lovely wooden chest of drawers, which has served me well for years.

The furnature has been moved around now, and my old bed has been disposed of; I’m sleeping on a matress on the floor for the next couple of nights. All of a sudden, my room feels somewhow different, like it’s no longer that constant that it has always been for me. Even though I started this room-makeover stone rolling, I almoss feel like I’m not actually in my room any more, like this is somewhere else, somewere new. At the same time, I still feel safe here, and it still feels like it’s mine, however different it may be.
Yes, I’m writing my blog post now against a different wall, but it’s the same desk.
Yes, my speaker is now in a diferent place, but it’s the same music.
Yes, it’s all different, but it’s still my room.

L XX

15 thoughts on “In Transition

  1. Oh my God, you are exactly like my brother! He has a room which he describes as “smaller than the bathroom*, he’s always falling off his bed and banging his head. We’re currently trying to get him a new bed, but because his room’s so tiny we have to think of storage techniques and stuff. All of his clothes are in the top half of my wardrobe at the moment.

    Also, can’t wait for your post on the British Museum. I’ve visited a couple of times, had a photography session there with my friend, and my auntie has also had her wedding there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha my room is, however, smaller than our average-sized bathroom πŸ˜‚
      I’m working on the museum post this very afternoon: I’m lacking pictures though, although there’s plenty to talk about. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My brothers room was supposed to be a study room, that’s how small it is! And since I’m older I bagged the big room. Ahh don’t worry about the pictures a) if you’re British you most likely have been there/know about it and b) people can find photos easily on the internet. You could always find some online too if you really feel it matters πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t usually like change either, but give it a month or two and you’ll see it all as normal!
    Also, I used to share a room with my younger sister, we had bunk beds, so I was pretty high up. As I remember it, it’s really strange going back down to almost-floor-level! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I’m sure it’ll seem normal
      Again soon. I’ll bare that in mind; I’m currently sleeping on a mattress on the floor, until my new bed comes on Tuesday πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I knew you had said in a most you did, so.. I looked but couldn’t find it so I wrote that then I realised that you wrote a little story time post which took place on twitter and I remember you said about following you so… I clicked on the link.

        Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

