Make Me Feel Better

As a British student, I’m currently on my summer holidays: one week into a seven week period of no school, minimal homework and [apparently] lovely weather. Honestly, I think us Brits’ complaints about shitty ‘summer’ weather have finally turned around and bitten us in the bum, because the weather here, however disgusting, has undoubtedly been hot.

I’m almost positive that at least some, if not most teens on their summer holidays use the school-free time as an opportunity to stay up into the early hours, rise in the early afternoon and watch far to many episodes of Pretty Little Liars than can be healthy for one’s mind. Indeed, this used to be an extremely accurate description of both my school holidays and, more often than not, my Friday and Saturday nights.
Ah, but I say ‘used’…
Recently, by which I mean throughout the last week or so, I’ve been going to bed at a reasonable time.
wow, L… Just wow
I mean, yes, a majority of the time I’ve had good reason to; I’ve had things going on most days this week which have meant I’ve had to get up in the mornings, and a sleep-deprived L is not a happy L. Still, there have been days where I’ve done nothing especially tiring in the day, and I have no desperate need to get up early the next morning, but all the same, I’ve gone to bed at a reasonable hour and consequently risen at a socially acceptable time [unless you’re a teenager, of course!]

I think it’s only really hit me today, after around a week of this abnormal-yet-normal sleeping patern, but I’ve started to feel really, really well. Like, it’s not as if I felt especially unwell before – I hadn’t noticed it, anyway -, but I have begun to feel more aware, energetic and, believe it or not, a lot happier. Turst me, I realise that I sound like I’m spouting the shit that your parents undoubtedly forcefeed you: ‘a good night’s sleep is the perfect remedy’, etc, etc, but believe me, it’s kinda true.
Very, very true.
Getting up earlier also makes me feel great. I used to have days where I felt awful, because I’d get up at 1 or maybe 2 in the afternoon, and just feel as if I’d wasted over half of the day. That knowledge left me with a sort of guilt that I just couldn’t shift.
Being awake, even if I’m not out of bed, by 8, or even 9 o’clock can make a huge difference to my day and overall mood, I’ve discovered. I’ve found myself to be so much more productive, motivated and positive, it’s almost unbelievable. Plus, who would dare deny that breakfast radio shows are so much better than daytime TV shows?

As well as this, I’ve started doing something that i’m fairly positive is going to have me labelled as a weirdo, but hell – weird is good.
Lately, I’ve begun to find really upbeat, dancey music, and then put aside at least 10-15 minutes per day [usually more, not gonna lie] to simply have a dance around to it. Sometimes I do it in the front room, sometimes in my bedroom, sometimes in the kitchen whilst I’m waiting for the washing up water to run. It’s so brilliant just to stop worrying, thinking, stressing or doing something for a set purpose for a short amount of time and just dance. Honestly, I can’t dance to save my life, but in the privacy of my own home, with only the cats to judge me, who gives a damn?
I urge you to try it sometime: I truly think you’ll enjoy it. A song which I shall suggest to try is
This Girl
because it’s just so summery and upbeat. Here in the UK, it’s pretty much the only song that our radio stations are playing right now, and it’s not really my kind of music: it’s not at all meaningful or thought-provoking. For a good old dance, however, it’s freaking awesome!

What have you started doing, or do you want to start doing, to make yourself feel better? I want to hear!

L XX

33 thoughts on “Make Me Feel Better

  1. I’ve been doing the same thing, or trying to anyway. I have a daily alarm set for 8 and even if I’m still not out of bed at 9:30, I feel good. It really has made me feel much better about my life.
    -Dani πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you found a good routine you like 😁 I’ve been sleeping pretty late at like midnight and waking up at 8 or 9 but it’s still a not too tiring but I really should sleep more. I took a 1 hoir nap today and I had so much energy after that πŸ˜πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜πŸ˜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I usually get around 5-6 in school time,which is super bad for me. Power naps have never worked for me: they leave me feeling groggy for ages! Try getting more sleep at a reasonable time; you won’t regret it X

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely do! You won’t regret it, and it really has a positive impact on your whole day. When I started this, I thought it would fail because I wouldn’t be tired at night, after being so used to staying up late. However, by getting up early, I’m awake for long enough to feel ready for bed at around 9:30-11:00pm. X

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I know exactly what you mean about the sleeping thing I used to go to sleep at 2, 3, 4am in the morning on a school night, as soon as I adjusted that I felt less dopey and sleepy in school and kind of refreshed. my friend also does that dancing thing, she’s kind of more serious about it, memorising her own dances for it and stuff but she’s really happy when she does it so nobody judges her. Glad you’re happy πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, she likes to do things which take effort, whereas I’m literally the laziest human being on earth, the most I’d do is some messed up improv dance.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. the thing about sleep is so true it does make you feel better to get enough sleep at the same time each night, i used to sleep in way too long on weekends but it actually just stuffs up your sleep cycle thingo, and then i feel more tired the next day

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly, and if you get up too late one day as a consequence of going to bed too late, you get stuck in this cycle where you just aren’t tired at the normal time…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so proud of my sleeping schedule…ALTHOUGH, I will admit that waking up at 5:45am for school 5 days a week is not fun.
    But 7 am is fun so all is well in the world now.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I don’t know if you’re into musicals (and even if you’re not, I’d say that you should listen to it anyway!) but if you’re looking for upbeat stuff then listen to Hamilton! (although some of it is sad…) It always makes me really pumped for the day πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Drinking a normal coffee (I normally have decaf) to wake me up at 4.30 so I can feed the baby and be wide awake to get stuff done and get me ready for when I return to work!.. gone are my student lazy days can’t believe it’s been 8 years since I graduated.

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

