TECHNOLOGY, PISS OFF!

Potentially a relatively short post, but an important one all the same. well, it may not be important to you guys, but the events which i’m about to describe [although there is very little to be described] are important to me, at least for now.

I was in a service station.
That’s how all the best stories start, right?
Anyways, we were in the car park, walking from the car into the services to grab some food. I was with
Elm
at this point; we went on a little trip yesterday, and by little I mean a round trip of around 400-450 miles. I took in my phone and, of course, my wallet.

I should probably explain here why it is essential for me to take my phone with me. Having a phone with me is pretty much the only thing that makes me feel safe and [a little more] relaxed. I guess it’s the knowledge that, if things fuck up, I can always call whoever i’m with, if I were to lose them for example, or in a diar situation, I could call the police. additionally, my iPhone is the home to all of my music, and often, if i’m stressed, music can really calm me down and also distract me for long enough to avoid whatever is stressing me out. For example, loud places stress me out if I’m on my own, so if the person I’m with has gone to get, say, a coffee, I can listen to a song or two, distract myself from the situation and rejoin reality when the person [and their coffee] has returned to me.

elm, her mum and I walked into the service station, and which point I noticed, with an understandable moment of panic, that I didn’t have my phone any more. Maybe it was because I was with others, but I did my best not to FREAK OUT, like I usually would; I came to the logical conclusion that it must have been in the car – I’d clearly just missed my pocket when I picked up my phone, and it was sat on the front seat of the car, happy as can be. Still, when we headed back to the car after food, I asked Elm’s mum to keep her eye open, just in case it was
A] on the floor somewhere and
B] hadn’t been taken already.
She saw nothing.
Upon our return to the car, however, I discovered that, after a thorough search, it wasn’t there either.
SHIT.
But, it wasn’t on the ground between the car and the service station entrance, where I’d lost it, so it must have been taken.

That was a fun chat with the parents…

The worst part of having my phone taken, I’ve found, is not the fact that I have no phone – I can just about live with that, short term, so long as I don’t go ANYWHERE alone -, but more the fact that there is potentially someone out there with my phone, my stuff. Pretty much everything of mine is on that phone: social media, contacts, messages, emails, calendars, photos, my blog…
Oh, God, my blog…
I’m trying to find comfort in the fact that I have a six-digit passcode which is in no way linked to me; it’s not, for example, a variation of my birthday, or anything similar. As well as that, I’ve been able to cancel my contract with my phone provider, so at least if someone does have my phone, they won’t be able to make calls, send messages or use my 4G [God forbid]. with any luck, those precautions are enough to save my stuff, presuming that my phone wasn’t simply run over by a ar in a car park…

True, I still don’t have a phone, but at least I’m safe, and I’ve been able to do something about it. Personally, I always think it makes you feel better if, when something doesn’t go right, you can do something about it; it makes you feel in control, like you aren’t completely helpless. With any luck, I can use an early upgrade and get a new phone tonight, but I’ll keep you guys informed.

This morning, to top things off nicely, my one remaining iOS device – my iPad – won’t connect to the bloody WiFi. It’s just sat there, thinking about it, and not doing anything! I’ve restarted it, turned the WiFi off and on again, cried, begged it to cooperate, all with no results.
I am potentially going to have a breakdown, which may or may not involve me lobbing an iPad out of a second-floor window… [I haen’t tried threatening it yet, but maybe that one did the trick?]

L XX

26 thoughts on “TECHNOLOGY, PISS OFF!

  1. Oh wow. I am so sorry! Once I left a tiny old-school mp3 player with all my music in class and freaked out when I got home Friday afternoon and realized it was gone. In my case, it was just a mp3 and I knew exactly where I left it, but I know what you are going through.

    Hope you can get your tech crisis worked out πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh gosh, that sounds awful! You say it’s just an MP3 player, but I get what you mean; it becomes like a part of you, particularly when there’s music involved. Thanks a lot; the iPad still isn’t cooperating, but at least I have my laptop πŸ˜€

      Like

    1. They do, yes, but I was out at the time as I said, and so had no means of looking at it there and then. Regardless, in my paniced state, I managed to disable my sim card pretty much straight away, rendering Find My iPhone useless, as my phone is offline. :/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A mix of panic and the inability to check it at that point, I guess. I had nothing on which to check it’s location, and I was at least 2h from home at that point. Panic gets the better of me sometimes * shrugs shoulders *

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I only lost it yesterday afternoon, and I’m already feeling the withdrawal symptoms! As I say, however, at least I have my laptop for WordPress, facebook and twitter, although I have to manually check them rather than having push notifications… I also have the lion’s share of my music collection on my laptop, so at least that’s not ALL gone…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Did you mean to make the pun of “the lion’s share”? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Also yeah manually checking just sounds very uncooperative

        Liked by 1 person

  2. L! All this has happened to me. Okay, let’s start with the missing phone. I was walking home and I went to get my phone when it wasn’t there I told myum she called me a idiot, I don’t know if it was dropped or stolen… Anyway, the point is, you did the right thing and for a while you will proberly be annoyed, but you will pro early get over it and get a new one soon.

    And now the WiFi thing, I had an iPhone 4s which is known for WiFi problems. Of course I didn’t know that. Anyway, if it is not connecting or the wifi icon is greyed out then pit it in a bag and put it into the freezer for about 3-5 minutes because you a thing in your device has overheated and need to cool down.. I went through that problem millions of times. I overheated my phone until it came up with the temperature screen then let that cool, that worked wonders.

    Honestly, I don’t really recommend any of these because this was for a greyed out WiFi icon. If yours is just a standard wont connect then search it up. Hope this helped! It proberly didn’t.

    Like

    1. this comment made me feel better, because at least I’m not the only one. I’m glad things worked out for you in the end, and I hope that that rings true for me too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember when my phone got stolen at school. It felt horrible because all my memories in photo forms where stored on there, plus my music with no back up. Just didn’t expect someone to take it. I hope your iPad works and you get a replacement soon or even better your phone appears magically under your pillow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds awful! I guess you’ve started backing up your phone now! πŸ˜‰
      My iPad is working now… Intermittently, however, that working all the same. I have a replacement phone: it’s a newer model than my old one, so there clearly must be a silver lining for every cloud! I’m just waiting on a SIM card, which should be coming through my letterbox any minute now πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My mom recently lost her phone too with all pictures of my late grandmother and song recordings of my grandfather. She was moping around a lot and still mourns the phone

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

