Ours to Share – the Blogging Project: Memories

Week 3: Memories

This post, written by the absolutely fabulous
Ivy
discusses the power that blogging has to remind us of times past, which we just cannot relive without material from the time. I absolutely love this post; I know you will too!

Hi everyone (looks around awkwardly and hopes no one questions my questionable rights to be posting on this amazing blog)! It’s Ivy, from hallsofivy.wordpress.com  and I am so so honored to be participating in The Blogging Project in this phenomenal place! 

Okay, so here goes (does calming breaths):
Memories
I can tell you exactly what I did on May 24th.

May 11th, too; and while you’re at it, just ask me how I felt on June 4th.

I don’t have a photographic memory, unfortunately; I can’t remember my thoughts and feelings on any specific day. I can’t tell you what happened in English class on May 28th or any day in April, unless you want broad strokes (I think we were reading Romeo and Juliet?)

But most days, I write it down.

I read once that when you sleep, your brain sorts through all the information it sees in the day and decides what to store and what to throw away. It’s why studying before bed is commonly seen as a great method, because it’s close to the time that your brain stores that information. It’s why common advice is to “sleep on it,” because the brain figures out what it thinks. But it’s also the kiss of death to memories, because once the brain decides that it doesn’t want those pieces of information, they’re gone.

And often the feelings that go with them are gone too.

So I write it down.

I’ve only blogged for a few months, but I kept a journal before that on and off for years. Blogging gives me the motivation to keep writing, because from my first follower there was someone reading. 

I can’t just stop my story in the middle.

And also, I have awful handwriting so it takes about 30 minutes for me to re-read a single entry in my journal.

Because even though I get a little surge of validation every time I see the little orange notification button pop up in the corner of the screen, I am probably my own biggest fan. I consistantly go back and binge read every single post I’ve ever made. Reading about the AP test brings me back to the moment I relized I was finally done with the class forever, and reading about what I wrote about my friendships reminds me that this isn’t just spur-of-the-moment feelings; it’s been going on for weeks or months. 

If I like reading about something that I did last month, imagine how it will feel to read about something I did years ago. My blog is a long and drawn out letter to my future self that shows the real-life character development of my friends and I, without awkward pleasantries or sugarcoating. It’s the abridged version of a young adult novel (because don’t we all secretly think our lives could basically be a book?) that I only write when I have time. It’s a journal that can maybe apply to others, that people around the world can maybe relate to or enjoy reading (I hope!). 

I’m not going to lie and say I don’t care about my followers, because I absolutley do (and I love you guys and everyone else I met online). You keep me honest, and make sure that I’m writing frequently and of relatively consistant quality. And I love reading your stories, too: to see if I can relate, or get advice, or even just enjoy what you write.

But this blog is a sometimes love letter, sometimes hate letter, and sometimes simply a record to me and from me. So maybe at my high school graduation, or when I get a job, or if/when I go to my fifty year high school reunion, I can remember what I did- and how I felt- on May 15th, June 20th, and well into the future.

7 thoughts on “Ours to Share – the Blogging Project: Memories

  1. Honestly, I relate to this so much. I’ve been blogging for a year – OVER a year – and memories are stored in my posts. I can remember what I wrote about a year ago, the emotions associated with it. I loved this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so true. Blogging is like having a virtual journal, you don’t mind people who get you read. This is a really good post. 😍✌🏻️

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

