If…

I can confidently say here and now that there are no people alive on this Earth today who have never made a mistake, never done something that they later regret: we’re all human, and true to the expression, ‘nobody’s perfect’. All too often, we find ourselves gazing aimlessly into space, mind wandering, thinking about what might have happened – what might have been -, if only…

The word ‘if’ is a dangerous one, if you ask me; it can lead us to think that, at some point in our life, we did something wrong, stupid and nonsensicle, and if we’d only not done it, things would be different, things would be better. I myself am not exempt from this sweeping statement – not by a long shot. There are hundreds of things that I’ve done which I’ve looked back upon and, in hindsight, regretted, because if I hadn’t done them, things might have been different.

Stop, however, and consider this: they say things happen for a reason, and for once, I believe them [whoever ‘they’ are]. Life’s too short for regret, for every moment wishing you’d acted differently is another moment of an all-too-short life that you’ll never get back, never be able to use towards your next ‘what if’. Everything – absolutely everything – has its positives and its negatives, and humans seem to have a tendancy of immediately jumping to the less optimistic of the available viewpoints on a situation when reflecting upon them.

Even now, I’m sitting here in the middle of the night. It’s silent around me, and there’s a breath of air trickling in through my open window. The usual hum of traffic is missing, but it’s beautiful, somehow. And i’m thinking…
What if I hadn’t said that?
What if I had?
What if I hadn’t done that?
what if I had?
What if we hadn’t stayed up until 3 that night in Brighton?
What if I hadn’t sent that text that night, before blocking his number?
What if I had said how I felt, sat on that train platform what seems like years ago, but in reality, it can’t have been any more than six months?
What if…?

Living a life of regret isn’t the way forward. Live for the moment, live for today, live for now, because who knows when your next ‘what if’ will present itself.

L XX

37 thoughts on “If…

  1. Another late night post.. Always a favourite where we think up everything wrong we did in our lives.

    I DEFINITELY regret a lot of things in the past which if I could go back in time I definitely would and I wouldn’t care if things were different because I would of changed a long regretted memory.
    But I can’t. 😦
    Someone hurry up and invent time travel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Or, accept that although things would have been different should you have acted differently in the past, life sets its own course, and we will always think that the grass is greener on the other side. 😜 X

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am very jealous! I’d love to live in / near Brighton: the shopping, the beach, and of course the wonderful entity that is Southern Trains πŸ˜‰ X

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know how you do this, but with every post, you capture my thoughts. The what ifs worry me, but really, I might as well just live for now. We’ll always have the present, after all. Thanks for writing this, honestly; it’s making me think about my own what ifs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is beautifully written, I’ve quite a messy background so it’s kind of hard to let go of regrets but as soon as I did I felt so much more free and happy. Everything you said is so true + relatable. Another amazing post, but I wouldn’t expect less.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pretty sure by now that the ‘L’ stands for ‘Lovely’. Relatable as hell and I am going to save your post because I’m gonna need it my entire life.

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

