Resolution

New day, new you – what a load of crap. Sure, I believe that every day can be a fresh start, and that you can forget yesterday and advance into today with a fresh canvas. Honestly, I like the whole cliché your-past-can-disappear-with-the-glow-of-the-rising-sun – but I guess that is just because it brings to mind a rather picturesque scene of a hippy-type character, sat on the dew-drenched grass, allowing the golden glow of the morning sun to wash over them, washing them clean…
Getting off topic!

Recently, life has become pretty full-on for me, but for once, i’m not complaining. The sport I play has, seemingly all of a sudden, taken over my life: i’m training with three clubs, playing in tournaments regularly, and travelling here, there and everywhere for all these sessions. As well as this, I’ve officially taken up going to the gym [on a regular schedule], as well as renting a hall in the local leisure centre to do my own personal training in my spare time. All of this is topped off with some school commitments, both music and English related, along with my usual trips up and down the country, visiting friends. There will also be my volunteering schedule, for my Duke of Edinburgh award, which will also be added work for me.

Resolution: I shall use a calendar.

Often, although I enjoy staying busy, it can lead to stress in my life: I get rather worked up and anxious when I’m trying to remember exactly what I’m doing when, where and with who. Consequently, I can end up feeling like I’m underperforming, or not doing as well at things as I know I could be, which is frustrating, disappointing and discouraging. However, ever since starting to use the calendar on my iPhone, I’ve actually noticed that my stress isn’t quite as bad as it used to be.
I think being able to see exactly what i’m doing, when and where I’m doing it and what it’s all about, all in one place, whenever I want/need to is really reassuring and helpful. Not only is it productive, but it’s also extremely comforting, and it can make booking events easier than ever, as it enables me to look at what else i’m doing that day, and assess whether another event is doable.

As an added bonus, it allows me to seem extremely professional when organising events and trips: “One moment, please – let me just open up my calendar”.

If you, like me, have a relatively busy life – maybe you just have lots of events or commitments at school -, and sometimes find yourself stressing over them, try using a calendar. Personally, I prefer electronic calendars: the one on my iPhone [which syncs to my iPad] is ideal for me. However, some people would rather have a paper calendar, in which case go out and buy one, or take a look for a nice one online that matches your room’s design and colour scheme. Trust me, it will make your life so much less stressful, and allow you to be more productive, less worried and more chilled.

This realisation has caused me to decide upon the following conclusion: it’s ofen the smaller things that help the most. Sure, this isn’t always true, but if using a calendar can noticeably lower my stress levels, then surely I’m on the right lines with this theory.
And so, I recommend that, like me, you have a go at finding things that can help you in life:
Consider what it is in your life that is stressing you out the most. Don’t worry if it’s quite generic, just try and figure it out. Then, try brainstorming ideas about why it stresses you out: write these however you like, whether it be on a piece of paper or on a computer screen. Finally, look through these ideas, and try and figure out what you can do to fix at least one of them, and then do it.
That’s all there is to it.

I really hope this helped you, and that it maybe inspired you to try and make your life happier. I know it sounds cliché, but I really want this calendar-related event to show you that things can be changed that easily.

”””””””””””””””’L XX

27 thoughts on “Resolution

  1. Recently, for my exams I created a revision timetable, and seriously there was no greater joy then crossing and ticking and highlighting them off the list. That probably sounds really crazy. Okay, I’m gonna shut up now 🙄

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m so proud and happy for you. Good luck on all the cool things happening in your life!
    And yesss making calanders is the way to go! They really are pretty helpful and make me stay organised (cuz me is VERY scatterbrained)

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

