EU

I live in London, England, UK. On 23rd June 2016, the UK held a referendum on whether to Remain or Leave the European Union. It has been a thing of much conversation and debate over the last few months, with everyone with seemingly different views on the matter. Each campaign, headed up by various MPs, have participated in debates, and have gone out to try and muster up support for their side of the referendum.

For those who are unaware, the European Union is a collection of countries who are united together within Europe. As a part of the EU, countries are promised benefits such as easier trade, easier migration and access to work in other EU countries. There are, however, a lot of rules and regulations which EU countries must follow, ranging from rules of trade [who can be traded with outside of the EU], to the shape of bananas [don’t ask…].

I purposefully have not discussed the referendum on my blog at all: everyone has a slightly different opinion, and although I appreciate the need for – and, in fact, the pleasure in – debate, I’ve seen many forums where strong-minded individuals have unintentionally turned a perfectly civilised debate into quite a nasty, personal attack. However, as I sit here tonight, watching the EU Referendum results on BBC One, I feel that now, I shall explain how I feel about our position, as the united Kingdom, in the European Union.

I vote Leave.

For a young person, in my area, in my kind of educational establishment, being a Leave supporter is going against the trend. Most young people – especially those in London – are Remain supporters: the EU can, if nothing else, provide them with a huge job market after they graduate from university, something that Britain is currently unable to provide. Additionally, the EU is, frankly, what they’ve – what we’ve – grown up with: the younger generation knows nothing different than being a part of the EU, and however much we’d like to deny this, change scares us.

I vote Leave.

Many Remain supporters are casually throwing words like ‘racist’ and ‘xenophobic’ around – hateful, unnecessary words. Not every Leave campaign supporter is voting Leave because of immigration. Although I can’t actually vote, I don’t support Leave because of concerns over immigration.
The EU sets a lot of rules, a lot of regulations and forces a lot of conditions upon Britain, and subsequently British businesses and British people. These rules are decided upon by a group of Europeans MPs, who are not elected by the population of the member countries. This, in my opinion, goes against the entire principals of democracy – something that our ancesters fought and died for us to achieve. To essentially be governed by people who we did not vote for, and who hold almost absolute power over our market, our economy and our education system seems wrong to me; it doesn’t seem fair.

The whole debate system has, in my opinion, gone awfully wrong for the EU Referendum. Debates have become personal, with politicians directly insulting therr rivals, rather than tackling the issues at hand; debates have become publicity stunts, and very little else; the last EU debate was held, of all places, at wembly Arena, commonly used as a music venue, or a comedy venue. Doesn’t that, over everything else, speak volumes? how much more of a publicity stunt can you make something so important, so significant, so historic? I am not defending the Leave campaign; they’ve been no better than the Remain campaign, and I don’t deny that in the slightest.

Both major parites in the UK – the Conservatives, and Labour – were campaigning to stay in the EU. Although I respect their opinions, and believe that their arguments are perfectly valid and correct in their own way, I can hardly think that it’s right that both major parites, and hence both major influences, in the UK are voting for the same result. Of course everyone is going to make up their own minds, but our Prime Minister and his key opposition politician are perhaps the most influential MPs, and it just seems wrong that there is not a politician of higher regard representing those who wish to vote Leave.

The results at the moment do seem very tight. As of 01:40am on Friday 24th June, Leave appears to be slightly ahead, but it’s so close, and there are still over 350 sets of voting results to be published. Regardless of the result, I will respect the decision that Britain makes, beause I know that both sides have their positives and negatives: only a fool would not see that.
L XX

24 thoughts on “EU

  1. You’re so brave putting out your opinion as a Leave supporter! Obviously not all leave supporters are racist and xenophobic, but I think people were worried since Nigel Farage (who is both of those things!) was campaigning to leave. I wanted to remain but that’s more to do with the Scottish politics and the laws that protect women’s rights πŸ™‚ Congrats btw!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post – I think you’re really brave for standing by your opinion even though it seems you’re in the minority compared to other young people. Just one thing though – we do elect the MPs that represent us in the EU – we elect them every 5 years and the UK has around 72 in total. Although the MPs (or MEPs as they’re called in the EU) can’t initiate the law making process in the EU, no law can be passed without the approval of the majority of the MEPs. So we do (or did) have MEPs representing us in the European Union Parliament and are able to elect them. Having said that I know the EU still isn’t entirely democratic as we don’t have many representatives for the UK (even though they are distibuted proportionatly between the member states according to population size). πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I totally respect your opinion, and I also personally am not overly keen on other people governing our country, despite supporting Remain myself. I think it’s great how maturely you discussed your views, and obviously everyone is entitled to their opinion and you are still fabulous and lovely πŸ™‚
    (Also I’m just casually going for a little stalk of your blog so don’t be surprised if I keep popping up in your notifications, haha!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not so sure now, living through the aftermath, if Leave was a bright idea at all… Still, as I say, keep calm and carry on. *Quakes with fear: I am being stalked!* 😜

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I get you. I’m not impressed with Farage, but I never am to be honest! But yeah, we’ll have to push through!
        And don’t worry, it’s only me, I just shower your blog with compliments and oddness so it’s not a bad kind of stalking πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. The whole system seemed pretty flawed after this referendum. I think people would have been a lot more satisfied with the result, whichever way it could have gone, if 16-17 year olds had been allowed to vote (because it is the future of young people that’s going to be affected the most) and if Nigel Farage hadn’t backed out of giving the supposed Β£350m a week that was previously spent on the EU to the NHS. I think some Remain supporters are lashing out because they’re worried about what will happen – the value of the pound dropped to the lowest in decades, and it’s something that’s never been done before so nobody really knows what will happen next.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. These are points that I agree with completely. I think that there also should have been rules that ensured That a clear majority was necessary (60%-30%, for example)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Very good article. I think everybody should be honest about how they voted as that is the only way this country can properly unite in the future and move forward. By being discreet, we are only silencing our own voices.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True, although I’m not afraid to admit that, upon seeing the aftermath of the vote, I’m no longer in agreement with my opinions detailed here.

      Like

Something to Say?

