People of Edinburgh Books

Due to having several topics o’ discussion lined up in my head for this blog post, I decided to mash them all up into a what I shall affectionately refer to as a super-bonus-potentially-crazy-and-confused-but-in-a-good-way title.
… Proud of that!
Because i’m a fan of putting ideas into very uniform lists, with a numbering system that makes them clear, I shall not list my collection of three ideas, adopting a more literary, paragraph-oriented layout.

The longest, and potentially most wordy idea, is relating to the Duke of Edinburgh award. For international readers, or those who are unaware, the Duke of Endiburgh award is a scheme which is comprised of four key elements: volunteering, physical activity, skills and expedition. Each participant must complete each area of the award to receive the award at the end, and three of the four areas must be organised by the individual participant – or at least, that is how it works if you are doing it through school.
Today, I received an email from my school, inviting all pupils in my year to sign up to the bronze Duke of Edinburgh award, if they so desire. Usually, I would shy away from this type of thing: I have no comfidence, am terrified of volunteering [or more accurately, helping people I know nothing about in case I fuck it up], and I just feel like everyone at school who signs up would be a lot better, more advanced and more adventurous than me. Still, something inside me jumped at the opportunity: to prove to everyone around me that I’m just as capable as anyone else – as everyone else around me – is a desireable prospect.
Do you think I should do it? I know that some of you reading this will have done it: how did you find it? Do you have any tips for any of the four elements? How about ideas for volunteering placements?
Even if you haven’t done the duke of Edinburgh award, but you volunteer in your spare time, work on a certain skill – like a language – in your spare time, or have done hikes and/or camping before, I’d love to hear from you with any tips or advice!

Next, I just want to mention a book which I’ve just started to read. It’s called Try Not to breathe, and is by Holly Seddon. It’s not really my usual kind of book: crime thriller, I suppose you would call it, but I’m really, really hooked. It involves several characters’ points of views, which makes the book a little more rounded, if that makes sense. Personally, I really hate when bloggers say: “I won’t ruin the story for you, but…”, and then proceed to ruin all but the very last chapter of the book, because technically they didn’t give away the ending. So, I won’t be that blogger. All I will say is I recommend that you look up the book, and see what you think of any blurbs or non-spoiler reviews.

Finally, I just wanted to put a little message out there. One thing that I really want to do, inspired by
Elm’s latest Post
is to start talking to more of you guys, whether that be through messaging or Skype [still completely anonymously, using audio-only calls and blog-specific skype accounts]. I have a contact page up on my blog, but I thought I may as well rewrite my contact details here, in case you want to get in touch and just say hello! I really want to talk to more of you: you’re all amazing and individual and unique and wanna give all of you a hug, but not at the same time, because I have really short arms.
… Getting off the point slightly …
You can contact me via:
Email: cwarned@yahoo.com
Twitter: @CWarned
KiK: CWarnedL
Skype: cwarned

I hope you enjoyed this post, and I look forward to hearing from you in the comments, and to hopefully hearing from more of you through Twitter, Skype, KiK and email πŸ˜€

L XX

12 thoughts on “People of Edinburgh Books

  1. I did my D of E award last year, and I absolutely loved it – I’d totally recommend it. For the skills section, I blogged, for the physical, I did spinning classes, and I volunteered at a charity shop. I actually enjoyed volunteering so much that I’m now working at an art museum… I found that my friends and I got so much closer during the expedition (we now have so many D of E related inside jokes!), and although on one day we got so lost that we spent 10 hours walking, the experience was brilliant. I’m brimming with tips (like do not, repeat DO NOT decide to have crumpets for breakfast!), so feel free to drop me a line – I’d love to get to know other bloggers too! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m planning to do my DofE next year in year 9, but I have a few friends in year 10 who said that doing Duke is amazing. I’ve done a couple hikes and my school camp this year was apparently harder than the Bronze expedition. Probably the biggest tip I have about camping is do not camp in winter it is a nightmare πŸ˜› Also bring heaps of socks and only pack what you need. You can live in the same clothes for two days or more.
    I’m learning Chinese at school, so I guess a general tip for learning languages is to practise using it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You should sign up for the award. I bet you’ll do good and you’ll feel proud of yourself in the end, despite nervousness and fear that you’ll screw up.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I did DofE last year and it was really really good but it also ruined my feet, calves, thighs, arms and shoulders for about 3 days afterwards. I’d say definitely do it though because it’s great for your CV and also really fun! Are there any scout/beaver/cub groups in your area? Normally they always want young leaders to volunteer with the younger sections😊 For my skill I did languages (specifically Gaelic) and for my physical I did surfing which were both really fun! Good luck with it!x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It soundsss pretty interesting really. But as you said, six months is a long time. Buuut, it’ll be a different experience so why not?
    Alsooo…I had NO idea you had a skype omg, we should TOTALLY talk sometime (if you’re so inclined) although…I might scare you off..hmm.

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

