All Around Us – the Social Project: Different

Week 9: Different

It saddens me to say that this will be the last post in this series, but I want to thank you all, whether you’ve contributed a post or read one. I hope that this project has made you think a little, and has introduced you to some bloggers that you perhaps hand’t heard of before. all of their amazing posts will stay on the blog in their own category, so you can go back and read them at your leisure.
I was actually going to post this last week, but it was such an amazing post, and served as such an amazing conclusion to the whole project that I opted to post it this week, as the final installment of the all around Us project. I really hope that you like this post, and that you’ve enjoyed this series: I’ve enjoyed reading all of the posts and your comments about the topics covered.

Hey guys!

I’m Ruth from
Fearlessly Loud
and I’m really excited to be part of such an amazing project! Seriously, L, this idea is freaking genius and thank you so much for giving me the chance to be part of it. Okay, let’s get started! I’m going toย begin with this little poem I wrote:

She was young and full of life
Vibrant, lights surrounded her at all times
When I looked at her, I saw courage
But when she looked in the mirror
She saw nothing

She wanted to talk and laugh and sing
Scream at the top of her lungs
The chains were heavy, pulling her to the ground
She tried to fight back
But lost the war

They yelled at her from a distance
All of them exactly alike
They didn’t dare to take a step closer
And see the burning fire in her eyes
That kept her alive

They spit out the word with disgust
She was not a copy, a clone like them
Pushing her around they started to laugh
The sounds they made tearing her apart
They said: “You’re Different”

Different, abnormal, unusual, special
Is that an insult? Painful to hear?
She closed her eyes and pushed back the tears
“So what?” she said with her chin held high
“So what if I’m different?”

This poem-like thing is pretty straightforward, so I think you guys get the meaning of it. This subject, being considered “weird” because you’re different in one way or another, is something most of us are familiar with. I have been trying to fit in from as long as I can remember and a couple of years ago I just gave up. I accepted that I was never going to be like the majority of people and that that was just fine. And you know what? That’s the best damn thing I have ever done. I am so much happier now just being me and I actually am surrounded with people that like me for, well, me!

If you ever feel left out or alone because you differ from the majority of people around you, remember one thing: you are not alone. You might be a minority, but there are people out there who feel the sameย way you do and would love you for you. Surround yourself with people with whom you feel comfortable with; that really makes the difference. You are wonderful, AMAZING even, just the way you are and don’t ever let anybody tell you otherwise. If you feel like you have to change for a person, then that person is not worth you or your time.

I’m an Ethiopian girl in the Netherlands. It’s not always easy. But I’m glad this happened, because now I know who I am and who I want to be. Now I’m proud of the person I’ve become and don’t feel the urgent need to fit it. Being different is not a bad thing. It gives you character and makes you interesting. It’s something to be proud of.

Love,

Ruth

8 thoughts on “All Around Us – the Social Project: Different

Something to Say?

