Listen…

FOOLED YOU!!! I bet you thought that this was going to be one of my deep, meaningful speech-like posts on a really deep, meaningful subject, didn’t you? Well, it’s not – sorry! But, as you’re here, why not keep reading? You won’t regret it, promise.
I should probably note here that if you don’t enjoy this post – a highly unlikely occurrence – I will be offering NO compensation or reparations.

Oh yeah, I haven’t even told you what this post is going to be about yet: are you feeling the tension?
*I just tried to accidentally mix tension and suspense, and ended up with suspension πŸ˜› *
This post, then: it shall be one of my periodic posts regarding to the music I’m currently obsessed with, along with links to them on YouTube, so you can listen along too – how kind of me, eh?
Eh?
No?
Right?
How awesome would it be if we were listening to the same song at the same time, without meaning to? I mean, it isn’t that coinsidental really, but it seems it – it’d be awesome! We should all arrange to listen to one osng at the same time, and like sing along, and make the world’s population join in, and maybe I mistook the title of Blogger for World leader…

Hey, an idea for you: Why not, as you listen to these songs [if you do],read my little descriptions of them at the same time! Then, it’ll be like having me with you, reviewing the songs alongside you – you could have a little conversation with me [well, with the words I wrote here], and that’d be cool and awesome. Good idea, L, good idea.

I’ve written over 200 words, and haven’t even got to the point yet – let’s get going.

I Found A Girl by The Vamps
I’m literally loving this song so much right now. If you listen to the yrics, they’re not describing anything too complicated, but even just the fact that it touches on LGBT as a topic demonstrates a step forward in society. The fact that a popular, mainstream band can release a song talking about a girl who, for once, is not obsessing over a man is something to be celebrated, but definitely not something to be settled for. Anyway, listen to the song – it’s awesome :-]

No by Meghan trainor
If this doesn’t release your inner sas, I really don’t know what will. I can’t listen to this without:
A] clicking at least once
B] actingkind of rebelliously
C] dancing like a constipated chicken.
“My name is… NO.”
My only issue with this song: she’s turning away interested men. I haven’t got enough people to turn one away – I’d say yes to LITERALLY anyone.

Focus by Ariana Grande
What is it about the percussion in this that I really really like? I mean, as if her vocals weren’t bloody amazing [listen to that high note at the end of the bridge], but the drums… And that bell before the chorus starts!
The creepy due shouting “FOCUS ON ME!” in the chorus, despite sounding like he’s having a painful moments in the, hem-hem, down-below region, does certainly add something to the track… Just need to figure out quite what that “something” is πŸ˜›

Boy problems by Carly Rae Jepsen
This is like, the Best [with a capital B] for solo-dancing in your bedroom, with the hairbrush-microphone improvisation technique.
Not that i’d know that or anything…
I don’t know how she pulls it off, but Carly Rae Jepsen seems to sing about such a real subject – I mean, c’mon we’ve all got a friend that couldn’t give a shit -, and still make a proper good dance tune out of it!
RESPECT!!!

Fast Car by Birdy [Cover]
This cover from the BBC radio 1 live Lounge… There are no words.
Words, there are none.
There are words: 0.
I love this so so much. The emotion she manages to convey through the stipped-back piano and her powerful voice is astounding, and I can only suggest that you listen tn this through good quality, noise cancelling headphones, or at least in a quiet room with no distractions.

Mama Said by Lukas graham
This sin’t one of their popular songs – well, there’s only one, but hey, give them some credit! Although I can’t say I’m a particular fan of the high notes at the end of the track, I love the song and the lyrics and the overall message. It’s super catchy too, so don’t be surprised if you end up with this stuck in your head for a while!
All I can say here though is this: those kids singing the backing vocals – how are they going to feel, listening to this in 20-30 years time? I’m shuddering at the thought.

LA Hallucinations by Carly rae Jepsen
I’m sorry that this one isn’t from the official channel, but she hasn’t released it as a single yet, although I don’t think it’d be a bad move if she did, hence why it’s on my playlist. Although I can’t talk from personal experience in regards to LA, the music industry and pop stars in general, I can say that I think this is probably a more accurate representation of the three. LA is always presented as some luxurious paradise, and I’ve never been able to say with 100% confidence that I “believe” in that. I think this song is probably a bit more truthful than the misconceptions we have in our heads – like any place, only the best pictures, videos,and overall snapshots of life are released to the world.
My favourite line from this song, which I love for it’s honesty, is: “Money makes your whole world spin”.

Brokenhearted by Karmin
woah, L, woah… 2012 THROWBACK BABY!
Does anyone remember this song? I thought, and to my surprise still think, that is is amazing, and i’m even more shocked that I still know the words. All. Of. them.
This song brings back memories of my whole Year 5 [10-year-old] class singing this at the end of year disco, and doing like some massive conga because we thought we were cool! Ah, all the LOLs off of primary school…

Close by Nick Jonas ft. Tove Lo
OK, so I love Tove Lo. if you don’t like, or haven’t heard, Habbits, I immediately look unfavourably upon you. sorry, but it’s beyond my control – but not beyond yours!
Admittedly, this song took a while to grow on me, but it did, and I’m really into it. The chorus, however repetitive, is actually really good, and the verses [especially Tove Lo’s] are awesome. No doubt about it.

and so that’s it – my music playlist for you guys! I really hope you liked it, and ythat you’ll check out [or have already checked out] some of those tracks that i’m listening to right now.

L XX

50 thoughts on “Listen…

  1. Why do you do this, L? .-. You got me fooled. πŸ˜‚
    Okay, I was exercising and seeing your list I thought to listen No by Meghan and guess what? I did dance like a constipated chicken. I’m dying now πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    Great list by the way! I’ll listen to them all asap.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry to disappoint 😜
      Release your inner constipated chicken! πŸ˜‚πŸ”
      Don’t die, or else you’re inner constipated chicken will never be able to relieve itself πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok. Serious face now. Picture a calming meadow with deep green leafy trees, soft grass, a gentle breeze carrying with it the scent of freshly baked cookies… And a cow dressed as Nicki Minaj, mooing along to Superbass in the middle of it all πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yepp, I did decide once to be a writer for American Horror Story. Seriously. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
        I was 7 years old maybe by then. Holy cow, this Nicki cow will be my nightmare now onwards. :ooo

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Um, if it’s ok, I think I’ll pass. A Micki-Minaj-Cow burger doesn’t particularly appeal πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

