Cool

I’m not cool. It probably goes without saying, to be honest, but in case it just wasn’t clear enough, I’ve put it in pride of place at the very beginning here. And again: I@m not cool, in case you are a blog-reader who, for some reason, refuses to read the first sentence of posts, which if is the case, you might have missed some pretty important stuff.
… Imagine it:
“The world is going to end in three minutes unless you stand up now. I hope you’re all well.”
You have missed that vital piece of information, and are therefore fully responsible for the world’s distruction. …

What is cool? It doesn’t really have a definition, if you ask me. Cool just seems to me to be this unachievable, unrealistic state of being. It’s somehow playing the game of high school politics like a world champion, and achieving supreme rule by, somehow, winning the game which everybody else has lost.

If you’re cool, everything you do is unintentionally perfect: your clothes, actions and sentences have purpose and attitude. Suddenly, everyone wants to be your friend, to the point where you can actively reject an innocent offer of friendship so casually, the act will have been forgotten within the minute. No one would dare bully or pick on you; there are far too many people who would instantly jump to your defence at the blink of an eye, and even more who would follow their lead in hope of being associated with ‘the cool kid’.

If there’s all those benefits, being cool seems like a pretty good way to be, if you ask me. However, in my semi-pessimistic life, I always live by the rule that every good thing has it’s downfalls: the whole ‘every cloud has a silver lining’ line, reversed.
Being cool can’t be easy, really. Ensuring that you don’t slip up, either metaphorically or literally, whenever you’re with friends, or in a public place must, at least, be a challenge. Only wearing cool clothes, saying cool things, talking about cool TV shows and music…
That doesn’t, to me, sound like living. If anything, that sounds like living a lie, strictly following a list of rules stating what is acceptable to like, to say, to wear, to watch, to read, to do. I’m a strong believer in individuality and personality, and if this is true, being cool essentially blots out all individuality from a person, leaving them a clone of every other cool person across the country, and a close copy to every other cool kid around the world.

That leads me back to my question: what is cool? Is it just the personification of trends, combined with a bit of attitude and a surrender to social pressure? It would seem so.
Really, though, why is that combination responsible for so many popular teenagers across the globe? I can say, with a reasonable amount of confidence, that people become cool because others feel that they are the clone of the person that everyone is ought to be. Cool kids are usually quite stereotypical: they like certain music, look and dress a certain way, and speak using select examples of up-to-date slang. Cool kids are the people that society can hold up and say to us all: “see, they’re just like you, and if they can do it, why can’t you?”

I’m not cool. I like the wrong type of music; hardly watch any TV shows at all, let alone popular ones; I would happily go to the shopping centre in a snow leopard onesie; I find it easier to write and read in English, not slang; I don’t follow social trends or stereotypes. Maybe if I changed all of those things, I’d be cool, popular. But I’m not going to, because I don’t want to change me.
In the end, where does cool get you? What does being cool achieve? JK Rowling, Steve Jos, Adele – they didn’t get where they are today because they were cool in school; they worked hard and were passionate about their professions. Although the positives of being cool are extremely appealing, the negatives definitely outweigh them: I refuse to live a lie, by following rules that don’t reflect me as a person.

Walking on egg-shells – the act of making sure you don’t put a toe out of line for fear of falling – sounds to me what being cool is like. It’s tiptoeing around everything, desperate not to slip and fall off of these egg-shells, fearful of falling but tired of staying upright. Everyone has a personality and I wonder if sometimes, someone who is cool feels that they have to repress an element of their personality, to keep with the trends and expectations. Honestly, that thought actually makes me sad, because it makes me wonder if that is what our world has really come to: a lot of people living a lie. People holding themselves bak, not allowed to be who they want to be, say what they want to say or do what they want to do.

whoever you are, cool or not, popular or not: don’t actively try and be cool. Really, it’s not that attractive by the sounds of things and it’s not real 99% of the time. Just be you: like what you want, wear what you want, say what you want. That in itself is cool, if you ask me, and hundreds of thousands of others around the world. Having the confidence and freedom to be yourself, and not conform to pressure, expectations or rules is cool, and earns you respect. If people can’t see that, it’s theer loss, not yours, and you whould remember that.
To me, you’re all cool, because you’re all you, whether it’s on your blogs, in real life or both. each and every one of you is well, you, and that’s cool.

so, the message of this post. don’t actively seek to be cool. And never be ashamed to wear a snow leopard onesie in a shopping centre!

L XX

25 thoughts on “Cool

  1. You should be so proud of this post L! It was amazing! Being cool is outdated and overrated – I don’t want my creativity and originality to be suppressed by the desire to be cool (something that doesn’t even exist)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m in now way cool either. People refer to me as being a bit of a ‘nerd’, but that doesn’t particularly bother me, but why does everything have to have a label to it? Makes no sense. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wish every high school kid would read this post and understand it’s meaning! This is what is wrong with society: originality is suppressed by the need to be a fake person so you’re “cool”. Thanks for this post, L!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not ‘cool’. I listen to indie and I like crime shows which everyone thinks as geeky. But I love fashion and I wear, god this is going to sounds vain, ‘cool’ clothes. I don’t think there should be a definition of cool and if there is, I don’t think anyone is ‘cool’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s up to you what you wear, and if you happen to like the clothes that are considered to be cool, that’s fine. I just think that it should be up to you, not someone else. Or rather, up to you, and not society

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I relate so much. I’m not cool, I’ll never be cool. I’ll never be one of the ‘popular crowd’. I’ll never be able to pull off the clothes that they wear I’ll never do the things they do. And that’s okay, because this is me. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.
    Yikes, did I talk too much about myself? Sorryyy
    My point is this post was amazing, the message is beautiful and thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I actually never really thought about the word “cool” all that much until this post. I don’t think “cool” has a set definition, but what you stated does make perfect sense, regarding the stereotypical cool, and the way you showed this message was brilliant.
    In my view, I think to be “cool” is to be able to do the things you love, as an individual, without caring about the harsh judgement of others. I don’t really think being cool is about the clothes, dialect, or popularity. Although, there are different variations of its definition, and like I said, I don’t believe there is a set-in-stone definition. I think you’re a pretty cool guy, L, and not the “cool” that lives a lie. 😉
    I hope this comment didn’t give any offence, that wasn’t my objective. I think everyone is cool in their own way. B)

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

