Doping

Recently, there’s been quite a lot of news, especially here in the UK, regarding sportsmen taking performance-enhancing drugs to achieve better results in a competitive situation. There has been many sports professionals, doctors and coaches who have spoken out, claiming that sportsmen have been taking these drugs for many years, including during the London 2012 Olympic Games.

I play sports. I don’t play at a high level really, and I certainly don’t play at the level at which these sportsmen play. However, I still take training and tournaments seriously, and do my best in every aspect of the sport. If I took performance-enhancing drugs to improve my performance either at training or competitively, I don’t know how I could live with myself. Sure, I might win more tournaments and play better, but it wouldn’t be a real victory. What about those who have ben cheated out of the achievements which they have trained hard to claim?

Why do people do it? Victory is obviously every sportsmam’s aim, but if I were them, I would rather work that extra year to build up experience and strength to win something, rather than taking illegal substances. How do you think they feel after? Are they proud that they won something, or do they know that they’ve done something seriously wrong?

It’s just wrong: it angers me that people take these drugs. there are children across the country – across the globe – who look up to these famous sportsmen. Kids watch footballers on Saturdays with their parents; rugby when they begin to play it in school; cricket when they become interested, and maybe join a team. it’s well-known, and simple logic, that children are easily influenced both by the people around them and by famous celebrities, like these sportspeople. so, are we going to have a generation of sportsmen who will think it’s OK – even cool – to take drugs in order to claim gold medals?

Looking back, it sickens me when sportsmen claim their medals, and are later discovered to have been taking drugs. How can they do that? How can they pretend that they won said medal on their own merit, and really be cheating so disgustingly all the time?

what do you think?

L XX

20 thoughts on “Doping

  1. I am completely against drugs. They might have reasons for taking drugs but I have a hard tine believing they don’t feel guilty for it all their lives. And the people who prepared so much but get cheated out? That’s really unfair.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes YES, I have heard of this.
    Taking performance enhancing drugs may be called cheating, but what if they’ve been prescribed the drug and they got addicted to it? In a way, it might be a matter of willpower. But then again, it’s not fair to the other participants. They are unable to win even when they have the talent and deserve to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Perhaps this is too harsh, but I can’t help but feel that if they are addicted, they should not be allowed to play. They give up drugs, or they don’t play sports: simple as that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree. Thats not only dishonesty, but it also shows a lack of self-respect in the sportsperson. Its actually a very interesting topic to have a discussion on! I think they should be medically tested for drugs before the game, instead of accusing them afterwards.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s an interesting topic, because we can’t really understand it. It does show a lack of self-respect, I agree. We should test before games, but then would they say that we were being invasive? Would that be a breach of their privacy? I don’t think so, but that could be an argument…

      Like

      1. Yes, any such decision could cause great controversy. But it could be taken for the sake of the pride of the nation. Right?

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with your points made in this, however I do think it is important to consider the circumstances. For example, most of the cases are where athletes are deliberately taking these drugs, whilst knowing that they’re illegal, and it’s just to improve their performance. I don’t think that is right at all.
    However, certain circumstances are slightly different, for example the whole Maria Sharapova issue. In her case, she’d been taking that medication/drugs (which I THINK was prescribed, however I’m not sure so correct me if I’m wrong) for years, and it has only actually been banned recently. Whilst I still don’t agree with the fact that she was taking them and that she probably should have checked what is and isn’t banned, it’s not QUITE the same.

    I don’t know; those are just my two cents.

    Great post on a really interesting topic, L!

    Elly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with your points, but she should be aware of what is and isn’t allowed. If she was taking the substance beforehand, why didn’t she make it her duty to tell the coach, the doctor, or someone like that? Why didn’t she say anything to anyone? X

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Three months too late though… It was banned on 1 January this year, right? I just think that she should have been more honest sooner, rather than hiding it for so long. It may not seem like a long time, but she competed within those months, and that, to me, is enough. X

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree with you. There are so many people who have worked hard to get where they are, and are just far outstripped by people who take the drugs. That’s ridiculous.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dishonesty is one thing, but cheating is another. I totally agree that people shouldn’t be taking drugs just so they can perform better in a competition, especially when they’re up against someone who actually put the effort into improving and didn’t resort to drugs.

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

