Look what We Can Do

This is quite a late post for me, in comparison to the writing and posting times of my posts in the last week or so, the reason being I had a concert at school tonight which I was playing in, and that started at 19:00, although my band was first on so I managed to get away fairly quickly.

On my way home from the concert, I had to go to the shop to get some stuff for home, like bread and stuff. At the till, I was paying for the shopping, and i’d also bought a hot chocolate from this coffee machine they have in the shop, and on the counter there was a charity collecting box. You know the type I mean – the tall, cylindrical pots with the slots in the top so you can donate money to the given charity? So I noticed that there was one on the counter, and asked the person behind the till what the charity was. It was Cancer research UK.

As some of my readers [that sounds way too possessive] will know, when I was younger I had an aggressive and nearly fatal type of eye cancer, which is the reason why i’m blind. Well, I’ve always had a little bit of bitterness towards cancer Research UK, as although they research hundreds of life-threatening forms of cancer, they don’t research mine. There is very little research done into my type of cancer, because it’s so rare, and so unknown. Maybe it’s mean, but I’ve always resented – just slightly resented – Cancer Research UK, as I can’t help but think what if.
What if they had researched my type of cancer?
what if the endless years of experimental treatment could have been avoided?
what if…

So, when I saw the collecting pot on the counter, all these thoughts flooded into my mind. But so did another one: a thought with a different message.
What about them?
And by them, I mean all of the others, the millions of people across the globe suffering with cancer: some terminal, some not, but all so dreadful – that I know from experience. What about them? is it fair that, just because of my mere life story, I should prevent them from being helped? why should I prevent future generations of men, women and children after me suffer because one life was affected by something so ridiculously rare, it’s not even worth thinking about?

I donated.
Sure, it wasn’t a lot; 30p. but think: if we all donated 30p each, the city of London alone could pull together ยฃ2.58 million. Just 30p from each and every one of London’s citizens could raise that amount of money. Of course, that amount has already been raised and surpassed in the many years of this charity’s work, and look how far we’ve come? Look how, as we’ve pulled together, we have achieved something brilliant.
It’s not perfect; the only way of reaching perfection would of course be by preventing all forms of cancer, and preventing any further cell mutilation. but just look how far we’ve come since the days when cancer meant certain death, with just days to live.

as a society, we’ve pooled our money, brought together scientists and medical research teams and have started the war on cancer. And together, we will win it.

Next time you see a collecting pot at a shop, or in a park perhaps, before you immediately dismiss it as a money-grabbing charity, think about the people who’s lives you could improve if you, like so many others before and after you, donate. It doesn’t have to be much; every last penny, cent – whatever your currency – will be appreciated. because if Cancer Research UK researched my type of cancer, I’d appreciate every last penny.
No, scrap that. I do appreciate every last penny. Because the odds are that someone that I know – a friend, an acquaintance, a family member – will be affected by cancer at some stage of their life. And then, i’ll appreciate it. and even now, I appreciate it, because everybody alive on this planet today deserves an equal chance at life, and I want to be a part of the force behind making that happen.

L XX

12 thoughts on “Look what We Can Do

  1. This is a wonderfully inspirational post. I can totally understand why you’d feel that way towards the charity at first but I think it;s awesome that you managed to see it differently and help out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hey L. I wasnโ€™t sure what to expect from you as I just recently started following you, as I found you through โ€˜Elmsโ€™ post, through that vid/voice clip that you did together [by the way you are pretty funny].

    Anyways, back on topic, this is a great post. Love the story/message.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The message in this story is really nice. It’s great that even though you resented the Cancer Research UK, you still donated. I wish all of society was so kind-hearted as you. You’re right, every last penny counts. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

