“Because… YOLO”

Hey guys:

Happy Mother’s Day!!!
[Is there an ‘ or not?]
I hope you’re having a wonderful day, whether you use the ‘ or not. I’m feeling very proud of myself right now, as I’ve just figured out how to change my Display Name, meaning that when I comment on your posts now, I’ll appear as L, not londonblind! Life is good, me thinks…

I was with some friends yesterday, at a sports tournament in which I was playing. I was reading through your lovely comments on my phone between games, and listening to a bit of Foxes [nothing beats Foxes]. Someone asked me what I was up to, and I just said: “blogging”.
Despite it being an anonymous blog, I have no problem with people knowing that I blog; most won’t have the time, memory or desire to seek me out, and they’d struggle to anyway.
After a few seconds, they asked me why I blog. I gave some noncommittal answer for which I am famous, and as if answering their own question, they said: “Because… YOLO”.

And that got me thinking.

YOLO: You only live once.
Of course, this immediately goes against some religions, but personally, I’m not a religious person, so I’m going to go beyond that.
You only live once – I believe that, and I’ve never really questioned it. But then, do we use that to decide the way we live? Do we use the fact that we only get one shot at life to decide what decisions to make, what opportunities to grasp, and what risks to take?

I guess there’s two ways of looking at it:
1: You only live once, so grab at evry opportunity that comes your way, because there’s no guarantee that it’ll come your way again.
2: Be careful which opportunities you grasp, because if you screw up, there are no second chances.

From this conclusion, I then went on to think about which way I live my life. I think I fall under the first category, but at the same time, I do have the omnipresent fear of, frankly, screwing up. I know that if I screw up big time – and trust me, there are plenty of ways to do just that -, there’s no going back. It’s not like Snakes & Ladders, where if you’re knocked out, you can just go back to start. Similarly, if you get to the end – if you win the game -, but you weren’t happy with how you won, there’s no way of just playing again. Life is one long game, but once you’ve finished, the game is over.

And I suppose that’s why I also grab at every chance that comes my way. Everything leads somewhere, whether you want to be there or not. But in life, I want to experience everything – don’t we all, really? In some messed up way, I want to experience the bad times as well as the good. I want to feel all feelings, experience all experiences, do all there is to be done. However negative an opportunity may turn out to be, there’s always the guarantee of a new feeling, a new experience and a new idea. Is it wrong that I want to take every opportunity?

And so, I go back to that quote:
“Because… YOLO”
You only live once, and I’m going to live my life. I’m going to grab every opportunity, every new thing and I’m going to live. One of my favourite quotes from the rapper Drake [who I’m not really a fan of to be honest], is this:
“Everybody dies, but not everybody lives”

L XX

32 thoughts on ““Because… YOLO”

    1. No, that is very true… But then, who is putting socks in the bin? Sox are great, even if they can’t be worn any more, because you can use them in weird art projects 😜

      Liked by 1 person

    1. OK, genuinely confused about whether this is a joke, or something medical… Please explain before I die of curiosity [see what I did there? Yeah? Yeah?]

      Like

  1. Oh my gosh L, YOLO is like sooo 2013.
    No no, just kidding 😛 I really liked this post and frankly, I live by YOLO. So…YOLO.
    (I’ve used YOLO too many times now, goodbye)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw man, I felt so bad I didn’t do anything for Mother’s Day… and then I realized it’s on May 8th for us Americans.
    YOLO – That expression I seem to hear spoken lightly, and I never really thought deeply about it. I’m not really a religious person, and I do believe a person lives once, but what they’re supposed to do with that life, I’m not sure. I guess I’d be the 2nd one, because I’m always cautious and really contemplate my choices. I’m not saying I turn down every opportunity, just that I think a lot more about it and plan out all the different outcomes and its effects, if you know what I mean. Some choices I regret, but all my decisions I make are intended for the better. xP

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

