Venturing into Lifestyle

Hey Guys:

This is like the fourth post today, but who cares? It’s my blog after all, or so I hope!

tomorrow is back to school, and personaly, I haven’t been at school since the 4th of February, due to illness and then the half term holiday. For this reason, i’m slightly dreading the 05:30 alarm on my phone [which I regretfully enabled just a few minutes ago]. I’ll be in bed soon, determined, as always, to get a good night’s sleep before my first day back. Traditionally, this is wildly unsuccessful, and I lie awake, on facebook, twitter or WordPress until 5am, when I get out of bed, without any hope of sleep, to the realisation that I’m so tired, I can’t even walk in a straight line.

I thought, however, that I would run you guys through my pre-school routine, to give you an idea of what I get up to before I leave for the dreaded prison – sorry, educational establishment. Maybe it’ll give you some ideas for your own morning routine, or you could give me some ideas based on what you get up to in the morning.

I’m going to write this like a timetable, and elaborate on each point as I go. So here goes – my morning routine:

05:30: Alarm
The dreaded noise goes off on my phone, to which I wake [groggily] and stumble over to my phone to turn the alarm off. I always make sure that my phone is in a position in my room which I can’t reach from my bed. This way, I’m forced to get out of bed to turn the thing off, as if I don’t, I’ll get the added wake-up call of my family screaming at me, because it’s early.

05:35: Coffee
I can’t function in the morning without a drink of some description, and coffee is my go-to option. We have a coffee machine [fancy], so that is my favourite, but if there is no ammunition [sorry, coffee] available for the machine, then I opt for either black instant coffee, or tea. I drink tea with just a little bit of milk, so it’s fairly strong but not discoloured. I make this drink after putting on the radio [usually Capital FM, a UK radio station which plays chart music], and therefore usually end up spilling burning hot liquid all over myself when I get too excited dancing.

05:45: Internet
This is the time when I sit, either with my laptop, iPhone, iPad or a combination of the three, to see what I’ve missed overnight online. This news usually comes from a combination of twitter [used for entertainment and showbiz news], Facebook [for news from friends and family], and The Guardian/BBC News [for news that is actually relatively important]. This is also my time to check wordpress, catchup on both the Blogs I Follow section and on the Teen tag, because that’s my primary way of discovering bloggers, and is how I started out. If I’m really awake [well, awake enough anyhow], I’ll write a post for my own blog, if there’s something I want to talk about, or if I haven’t posted the night before. The morning is my favourite time to post, because it usually means that people have commented by the time I check my phone at morning break and at lunchtime at school. This is great, especially if something is worrying me, because comments give me somethingto focus on and usually make me smile.

06:30: Exercise
This varies, I must say, from a whole half-an-hour of exercise [or sometimes even more, depending on how timing works out] to no exercise at all, again depending on how I feel and what time I have. I like to use an exercise bike, which I got when I was training for my 170 mi crosscountry bike ride in August 2015. I also do things like sit-ups, plank, push-ups and the like, and will often try things like the splits, and other flexibility exercises.

07:00: Shower
I have to shower in the morning; for starters, my hair always looks a mess when I get out of bed. it just goes everywhere, and no amount of combing, brushing or hiar-drying works unless I’ve managed to significantly wet my hair first. Additionally, showering in the morning wakes me up, and puts me in a better mindset to face the day. I know that sounds completely cliché, but the reassurance that I don’t stink, and that my hair is clean and tidy puts my mind at ease.

07:10: Bathroom rituals
As teenagers, I’m sure you’re aware of the issues we face on a day to day basis. As hinted at in the last sentence, the face is a major issue; spots are like the terror of my life. I wash my face using face scrub, and sometimes use one after which is not as strong, but leaves a nicer scent. The one I’m using at the minute is made up of green teas, along with natural oils, and it smells AMAZING – like fruit and plants. Then there’s obviously brushing teeth, and, as I like to call it, hair organisation. Most people call it bbrushing your hair.

07:25: Another drink
After dressing and getting my school stuff downstairs, I usually make another drink [sometimes this is a cold drink, like juice or squash or water, and sometimes it’s another tea/coffee]. I watch BBC News for a bit, to appear sophisticated at school when disuussing current affairs, and keep an eye on my phone, as this is the time that people text me, if they’re going to text me at all. This is also the time to ay hello to the cats [I have three], although I’ve got to be careful to keep their fur off of my school blazer and trousers, because it doesn’t look too good turning up in school covered in pet hair.

07:45: Departure
This is when I step outside, scream: “Shit! It’s cold!”, before hurriedly retreating indoors, grabbing a coat and entering the arctic [sorry, England] weather once again. I get to school at around 08:00, which leaves me half-an-hour before school to talk to friends, or sit and relax, or get a coffee at school [because they do fancy coffee-shop style coffee].

And that’s it – my morning routine. I hope you enjoyed reading this. I’ve never written a lifestyle post like this one before really, so I wonder what you guys think of it. Did you enjoy it? Should I do others like this, or do you prefer what I usually write? Do let me know!

Do you have any ideas about additions to my morning routine? Maybe you like one of my ideas, and are going to start doing it, or need more info on it. Please let me know in the comments!

This post has eneed up significantly longer than I had initially planned, and has taken me close to an hour to write, which was longer than I had set aside. It’s been worth it though, and I hope you agree. Over 1000 words though… that’s a lot, I think you’ll agree xD

L XX

29 thoughts on “Venturing into Lifestyle

      1. I don’t understand why one would EXERCISE IN THE MORNING. CLEARLY MORNING IS THE PERFECT TIME TO EXERCISE YOUR LAZINESS. …or not. Btw, I hate coffee ^^

        Such people don’t survive long in the world, however. I’d better watch out O.o

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh wow you are organised, my routine is shower and get my stuff ready the night before, roll out of bed at 7:30 and get dressed and washed in 15 minutes before grabbing a quick breckie and heading off to school. I think if I got up at 5:30 I’d be half dead through most of the day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG WHAT?! Why do you do things in the morning? And get to school half an hour early? I get up at 7:45, to be at school for 8:30! Do you not value your sleep? You’re mad, mad I tell you. And you’re also going to achieve a crazy amount in life because that level of self discipline and organisation is seriously impressive. 😀 x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha I’m literally the polar opposite of a morning person. I don’t think my eyes are physically capable of opening at 5:30 am! I’m extremely impressed man. Also, loving the dabblings into Lifestyle 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This was actually pretty funny to read, especially the “shit it’s cold!!” part lol. I find it so amazing how you’re able to have the time and energy to do all of that!
    *applause*
    I give myself just barely 15-20 minutes to get ready in the morning so for you to dedicate 2 and a half hours is pretty impressive.

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

