Assisted Dying

Hey Guys:

As the title suggests, this is not going to be a happy, funny or lighthearted post; if you’d rather not read this, I understand, but it’s something that I really want to discuss.

Assisted dying [or euthanasia], by definition, is “The act of killing someone painlessly, especially to relieve suffering from an incurable illness”. There is much debate in many countries about both the laws surrounding this subject, and the ethically right stance to take. Some, including the Christian church, are strongly opposed to euthanasia, and state that it is up to God to choose when a particular person’s life is to end. there are others who believe otherwise, and say that euthanasia should be allowed; it is only fair to allow someone with a terminal illness, for example, to die more graciously and painlessly.

I raise this subject in the wake of a BBC [British broadcasting Corperation] documentary called
How to Die: Simon’s Choice
in which a man, simon, is diagnosed with motor neurone disease. He is left with just two years to live, and knows that his body will, and indeed has already begun to, fail him. Simon considers the option of assisted dying, illegal in the UK, but not so in Switserland, where he intends to die.

Understandably, many people have very strong oppiions on this subject, and I’ll express mine in this paragraph. I’d just like to state that I do NOT expect everyone, or even anyone, to agree with me, and I’m not closed to other points of view or ideas. I think that euthanasia should be allowed in this country, but with certain conditions. There must be a reason for someone to request assisted dying, like a terminal illness, and they also must be able to state that they wish to be euthanased. This could be in advance; after a diagnosis, an individual could state to their Power of attorney that if their health reached a certain point that they wanted to die. This would have to be signed beforehand by the person in question. Of course, it could be there and then, if they are able to communicate adequately.

Personally, I think that living in pain, knowing that you are going to die is probably one of the worst forms of torture imaginable. I’ve not lived through this, obviously, and so it would be unreasonable to take my assumptions as fact, but I can’t imagine anything worse than living through pain, knowing that there is no light at the end of the tunnel aside from an escape from the pain. For euthanasia to even exist, there must be a point where terminally ill individuals have expressed strong desires to die; the documentary mentioned above gives evidence of this. IN the end, it is their life, and the harsh reality is that they have no hope of a better life; in most cases, all that is to come is a medical decline until the very end. This is both ungracious and painful, both physically and emotionally, and it seems to me unfair to put unwell individuals through this pain.

On the other hand, i do see why people vote against euthanasia. Especially in my proposed law, there is no way back – no way to undo what has been done – after the diagnosed patient has told their Power of Attorney their wishes. Who’s to say that their wishes won’t change, their fear of death won’t overwhelm them? Even to the last moments, because assisted dying is not instant, there could be a change of heart, at which point it’s too late. According to this documentary, assisted dying takes approximately 4 minutes from start to finish, and there’s nothing saying that within those 4 minutes, the individual won’t change their mind. There is also no way of knowing if a miracle cure for any given illness won’t be developed in the coming months, weeks or even days after someone has been euthanized. Dying is the one act that cannot be undone or reversed, regardless of circumstances.

What do you think about assisted dying? It’s a big topic I know, but I’m sure you have an opinion, whether it be similar or dissimilar to my own. Let me know.

L XX

30 thoughts on “Assisted Dying

  1. Hm, I do agree that assisted dying isn’t always the only option and that there’s always hope a cure can be found within a few months. Anything is possible. But yes, I wouldn’t want to live another 2 months knowing that it’s just going to be full of pain with little hope for a good ending. I would hope most people don’t resort to euthanasia, but if the torture is great enough, then I would respect their choices, hoping they have no regrets. Although assisted dying might not be the best answer, I don’t believe it should be made illegal, because everyone has their rights, including the right to die; especially if they’re in pain while living, and death is the only “cure”. :\

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s not so much that I don’t like talking about it, just that I don’t like that term… It makes me sound so weedy and needy – i’m a poet and I didn’t know it… I hate that expression to 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. My opinion really relies on the point that it’s what the person thinks. If they choose euthanasia, I hope it’s because they think that it would be better to die peacefully then die because of their illness/disease. And I hope that they would think all the consequences through. As of this, I don’t think it should be illegal to chose euthanasia. Like Annabeth said, everyone has a right to die if they so wish, so if they do, they should be allowed to do so. Not saying that euthanasia is the best conclusion but it always depends on the situation and the person! If the persons thinks it’s the best ending, then they should be allowed to choose it with no barriers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s great that you were discussing this in class. I think people should talk about this, for awareness and because, in harsh reality, it might be a choice that they or someone they know may have to face.

      Like

  3. I love that you’ve written about this as in school, for part of my GCSE I had to do a speech about euthanasia. I believe its okay only if you are terminally ill or incapable of doing anything at all for yourself. However, in countries such as Belgium and the Netherlands, where euthanasia is legal, the rules have been twisted and hundreds of people are being euthanised without their permission resulting in the murder of so many people. I honestly believe it okay for someone to ask for euthanasia in certain situations, but I believe lots of people could take it to their advantage and lots of people can be murdered. But I thinks its great you’ve got people to discuss this! -Tash x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed this post. So many people have twisted the rules, and that’s why double, and even triple checks would be necessary. I suppose people cheat in life, even at the very end. What can we do?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I watched this yesterday and i understood his choice on why he wanted to end his life. Living in constant pain knowing that you WILL die but you HAVE to go through the pain is unbearable to even THINK about. I totally agree with you. I think people are entitled to choose the way they live their life. It’s their RIGHT. Human rights. However, i also realize that some religions forbid this so it’s understandable. But that’s just my opinion.
    This was a great post, L 🙂
    -Blue.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked it. I totally undersood his decision, but I did cry at it, which leads me to wonder how on earth the family felt. There’s only so much emotional pain that can be demonstrated through TV. XX

      Liked by 1 person

  5. My opinion to this, personally, is never to give up on your life. You only have one life to live, and assisted dying is giving up on that one chance. But I do understand why people would want to do this, it is extremely hard to live under pain everyday. But I say you should fight for every breath you take, and even though you go out in pain, you still lived your life to the fullest.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You’re right, living in pain knowing that you’re going to die is one of the worst things ever.
    And I really wish that it was legal in my state, I feel like I should have the ability to choose when my life is over (in this kind of situation )
    Although I do have something where the paramedics can’t revive me if I die.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Living in pain is one of the worst thing but it also makes you human. I am kind of thankful to feel pain even though I don’t want to because it still proves that I’m a human.

    My thought on assisted dying though, it makes me scared and I don’t even know why. Maybe this is kind of good but If I’m dying, I still want to feel pain so I know that I am dying rather than not knowing it’s the end of your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a very good point. Pain reminds us that we ate still here. I don’t know how the prospect of dine would make me feel. I don’t want to say, because I would think differently to how I think now, if I had to make that decision,

      Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

