We Can Change the world

Hey Guys:

How are you? I haven’t asked in a while, have I? I hope you’re well.
No one ever comments saying how they are… you should do that; I’m interested!

I wanted to make a post today about a website. Many of you will have heard of
Change.org
and the amazing impact it can have. If you don’t know what it is, change.org is essentially a platform for individuals like you and me to start and sign petitions. It is used all over the world, to make change happen.

I thought that in this post, I would look through the trending petitions on change.org, and highlight any that I felt were really important, or were good to discuss. So, let’s give this a go:

Convicted domestic abusers arenโ€™t heroes. Donโ€™t let them play in the NFL.
This petition brings to light a rule of the NFL which I wasn’t aware of. Now, I don’t live in the U.S., and don’t follow football in any way, shape or form, but I still think this rule is wrong. No doubt about it.
The rule states that an NFL player must be convicted of domestic abuse twice before they are banned from playing in the NFL league. Along with the petition’s creator, I think this is wrong. Children across the U.S. and across the world look up to these players as their inspirations and role models. If these “role models” are in fact domestic abusers, they have no right to be in a position to influence so many young people. In my mind, it only takes one act of domestic abuse – a slap, a kick, a broken bone – to make someone uninspirational. sure, they may never do it again, but actions have consequences, particularly in high-flying jobs.

Stop Making Flint Residents Pay for Poisoned Water!
In Flint, a town in the U.S., the water that comes out of taps is scientifically classified as toxic waste. It is unsafe to drink, and has been for close to a year now. Personally, I think this is unacceptable, but understand why it can’t always be helped. Nevertheless, why this has been going on for a year is an unanswerable question. Residents in the flint area are still being charged very high amounts in comparison to the national average for their water, despite the fact that it’s unsafe. The person who started this petition wants to have water bills stopped until the water is safe again, and also to be refunded both for the water bills that covered the time during which the water has been unsafe, and for the bottled water and filters which residents have purchased to drink clean water.

ots – review the sexist pricing of everyday products</a
It has been proven in
This study by The times [UK newspaper]
that women and girls are being chareed anything up to 100% more for products targeted at them than boys. For example, Tesco sold ten disposable razors, and charged twice as much for the pack targeted at women because they were pink. There was no other difference at all. I don’t think this is right; this is sexist, pure and simple, and that is something that our society must not accept. I’m not a woman, and therefore this doesn’t affect me; if anything, this could work against my favour. However, I see how this is unfair, and as a member of society, I will not stand for it.

Stop housing homeless teenagers in unsuitable bed and breakfast accommodation.
I’d be interested to see people’s views on this topic, because I suspect some people will have different oppinions here.
Teenagers across Wales [United Kingdom] become homeless for many different reasons. In Wales, 100 16-17-year-olds are being housed in unsuitable Bed & Breakfast accomidation. Some report being sexually assaulted because there were no locks on the doors, and they were surrounded by strangers of all ages. It’s not as if multiple charities don’t exist across the country to house homeless teens; they do, and yet the Welsh government is not using them. I think that teenagers have all osrts of reasons for being homeless, and that they should be treated with care; they’re homeless usually by force, not by choice. And if it’s by choice, it’s for a good reason.

Create a law to protect models from getting dangerously skinny
Models across the globe are getting skinnier and skinnier, and are bing put under pressure to be that way. Not only is it dangerous, but it’s putting teenagers and even young adults under pressure to look a particular way. It’s dangerous to the models, who can develop severe illnesses, both physically and mentally. It causes societal pressure and it can lead to bullying at best, and illnesses like anorexia, bulimia and, in the worst of cases, suicide. This model [who started to petition] is fighting for a UK law to be instated, to disallow the use of models who are too skinny. This should discourage models and therefore members of the public to look this way, and develop dangerous illnesses.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Feel free to sign the petitions – any of them – and please please please leave any feedback in the comments below. I’d love to know what you think about these; I’ve found them interesting, and very insightful to research and learn about so I could write this.

L XX

15 thoughts on “We Can Change the world

  1. I remember seeing this on youtube. I signed a petition for global warming. It’s really great that I can be part of making a change for the better. And I’m doing well today, thanks for asking!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m well, thanks for asking. I hope you’re faring well as well. ;P It’s great that you’re bringing attention to your readers about changes that need to be made! This is inspiring and really helps raise awareness! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so inspiring. You don’t know how happy I am to learn that someone else is aware of this website. I’m very active on this website, and I felt so good reading this post! Love your blog xx

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

