Internet Friends

Hey guys:

This is early for me, isn’t it? It’s coming up to 06:35, and I’m sat in bed, writing this on my iPad. I need to have a shower reasonably soon though…

I would say that I have more “internet friends” than the average teenager. Then again, I’d say that I’m not alone in that assumption when in the Bloggosphere, because most of us do, I guess. However creepy it sounds, I’d consider most of you guys my ‘Internet friends’, because you meet my criteria of what friends should be:
Caring
Happy to advise
Always there [online in this case].

I wonder if you feel similarly, about your number of ‘Internet friends’ in comparison to most teenagers, or even most people. I’m sure that if school, or even my parents found out just one of my ‘Internet friends’ [OK, we’re stopping with the quotes now; they’re annoying], then they’d flip and probably take my phone, iPad, laptop etc away. As adults, they automatically assume that everyone and anyone on the Internet is a pervert, or a murderer, trying to find their next victim. I’m not dismissing this at all; there are people like this. But hardly any; not as many as adults would have us believe.

How cool would it be, if one of us said on our blogs “I’m going to be in” [insert city name here] “on” [insert date here] “and we could all meet up!” Imagine if it was on a beach in Brighton, because that is my favourite city. Bloggers beach party – that is genuinely the dream…
I would love to meet each and every one of you guys, to thank you for reading, liking, commenting and following. And then, we’d have fish and chips on the beach ’cause British, and we would have a donkey ride on the beach and go shopping in The Lanes… Just imagine this group of bloggers walking around? What a scene…

Anyway, what I’m saying Internet friends are just as good as everyday real-life friends. They’re just as real, and just as genuine, they’re just a little further away [usually].

L XX

27 thoughts on “Internet Friends

  1. agreed. I’ve chatted to a blogger friend at 2am (well, I suppose timezones make that easier but still) and honestly online friends can give the best advice. a blogger meetup would be frickin amazing. Imagine if WordPress had a messaging feature so you could add everyone into a single chat, that would be awesome too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I consider you, and basically everyone who I talk to on my blog, internet friends as well. I think I have more internet friends than real-life friends actually :)) (not that I don’t mind!)
    I think my parents would do the same actually. Because they’ll be like “what how is someone a ‘friend’ when you’ve only talked to them online?? you don’t know if that’s safe???? *confiscates laptop and phone*”
    And yes it’ll be so cool if a bunch of bloggers we could all just meet up! I’ll be up for that πŸ˜€ I’m just imaging showing a bunch of my internet friends around in Sydney if they came down there and showing all my favourite shops and cafes and places and ahhhhh
    I definitely agree to your last paragraph πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love blogging because it is such a great way to make new friends, which is something I’m not very good at irl because I get really shy, I’ve considered telling my parents about a few of my internet friends who I’m really close with, but I always get scared that they will freak out on me πŸ˜„ the blogger meet up sounds amazing, and I love Brighton too, it would be such a fun time! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree 100%. In only one and a half month of blogging I came to discover such genuine, heartfelt, beautiful people and enormous support! Internet friends are amazing, always present, always honest and so so authentic! It really became a part of me in such a short time, but I couldn’t imagine not interacting with them on a daily basis! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great idea! Except I don’t generally want to go on a donkey ride…. and yeah I guess I’d say I have a ton of internet friends and like 7 in reality XD uh oh L, what if I’m a psychopath! :’)

    Like

  6. I tried telling my parents about my internet friends and they immediately assumed they all wanted me dead.
    Honestly, I have so many internet friends who I feel I can confine in better than some of my real life friends. Because everyone on here is always so supported and kind and then I have my other internet friends who are amazing and internet friends in general are gr10

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

