Guest Post – Mentally Growing Up

Hey Guys:

I hope you’re all well, and ready for yet another post! I’m actually getting quite overwhelmed, that so many people want to guest post on Lifeofblind; it’s kind of weird, but a good weird, not a bad weird! This post was submitted today, and I think you’re going to like it – I did! Enjoy!

Hi viewers of L’s blog! 😀

I’m Emily from emiwee, and L has kindly let me do a guest post on his blog! Before I keep going with the real point of this post, congratulations again L for reaching 100 followers and happy early birthday!!

<I’m a child of divorced parents, and yes, that’s left me with a lot more difficulties to go through than any other “normal” kid. I won’t be expanding and breaking down these difficulties, but I want to talk about something I’ve been… well, forced to do since my parents are divorced.

I’ve had to grow up a lot more quickly than other kids. Mentally, of course.

Having divorced parents is, as everyone surely knows, truly life changing. Your family is physically split in half and as a child, you have to juggle the consequences that come with that. You have no idea how or what you’re going to do. You're thrown into the deep end, really. Everything is a mess.

And since your parents have their own issues, you’re on your own. Well, at least in my case.

This is where the concept of “growing up” slots in. And this is one of the biggest reasons I’m the person I am today.

As a young girl, my parents’ definitely made time for me, but as time dragged on, I realised that with their problems, I’d have to start to learn do things on my own. When my parents weren’t there for me, I had to be there for myself. I had to become independent, mature and responsible for me.

This started to take shape when I was 7 years old. My peak age when I realised that there are some parts in this life that I have to do on my own.

So I grew up.

I learned how to be independent. I learned how to tackle my responsibilities as a child coming from a broken home. I learned how to be honest. I learned how to keep things to myself. I learned how to solve my own problems. I learned how to handle myself in various situations. I learned how to get myself to and from different places. I learned how to be organised. I learned the art of trust. I learned how to be strong. I learned how to brush off the things that don’t matter. I learned how to keep moving forward.

I learned how to be the best version of myself I could be. Flaws and all.

To this day, I’ve become a very independent, organised and responsible person. And people have said I act older than the age I really am, which proves that maybe I did grow up faster than other kids because of my parents' divorce.

The act of growing up. Kids fear it, but me? I’m glad I did grow up faster than most children. It’s made my life a lot more easier for me to manage, and I definitely got to enjoy it more and use it to its full potential so far. It's helped me get to where and what I am today, and I'm happy.

Past Emily, you might've been confused and frustrated, but thank you for going through it head on. For tackling all of the challenges you were thrown at such a young age and for learning so much from the world around you.

Thank you for mentally growing up.

(And thank YOU readers for reading this thing about me!)

-Emily

L! You can add the tags and stuff – I chose the category of “guest post”. And obviously, since this is your blog, add things and whatever 😀 Again, thanks for letting me guest post!

9 thoughts on “Guest Post – Mentally Growing Up

  1. I had to grow up quicly too , but my situation is different . I live in a host home right now and even if my host parents told me that I’m part of the family , I still can’t really let go and blend in with them because where I grew up , I had to learn how to take care of myself and go after what I want when I have the time and money . ANd now with this host home thing , I’m learning to be an adult and I’ll applying to state Id’s and food cards from the state at 17 . I think I grew up both mentally and physically .
    I’m sorry about your parents divorce and I just wanted to let you know that I understand it . Mine were never really married .

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ah okay. I understand it would be hard to change your lifestyle when it’s not something you’ve been used to.
      Don’t be sorry, it’s not your fault and I don’t wish for them not to have divorced. Thank you though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your situation has almost brought me to tears. There are so many others out there in the same position as yours and it’s horrifying to think so many others are going through watching their parents split up. I truly wish you all the best for your future. I hope it’ll be a bright one:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – I hope so too. Although I’ve wished that my parent’s divorce didn’t happen a countless number of times, I’m glad it did because it made me a better person 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

