Proud

Hey Guys:

How are you? Look, I owe you an apology; yesterday’s post was, for want of better words, uncalled for. I shouldn’t have written all that, because you guys shouldn’t have had to read that. I want to move on from that though, because there’s no point dwelling on it; just know that, for now, I’m OK.

Today, I wanted to talk about being proud. People are often afraid of expressing when they are proud of themselves, even though it’s usually well deserved. I’m no exception; if I’ve done something I’m proud of, I’ll very rarely talk about it, even if it’s all that’s on my mind. Maybe it’s a british thing, maybe a teenage thing, or maybe just me; I guess I’ll never know.

well, you know what? I’m proud. I’m proud of myself, and I’m not afraid to write that here. I’m proud that I’m here, and that I’m still kicking, despite everything that’s been thrown in my way. Trust me, there’s a lot in my way in my life, from being blind, to my anxiety, to my social incapabilities. I’m proud that I write to you guys, because to me, that is such a great achievement. I never have liked telling people things, and I’m proud that I have found my way of expressing myself through the written word.

That paragraph looks really attention seeking, but maybe that’s why we don’t like saying that kind of thing. Maybe, it’s because we don’t want to act like an attention-seeker, or we don’t want to attract any more attention than necessary. It’s in our nature not to blow our own trumpets, but I think it’s important that we can say, even if it’s just to ourselves, why we’re proud of ourselves. Maybe once a day, or once a week, but it’s so vital that we can recognise what we’ve done well. Our brains – or at least my brain – is so quick to self-criticise and provide a harsh judgement on whatever I’ve done. That’s halthy, I’m sure, because it allows us to learn, and improve and adapt. Equally, recognising what we’ve excelled at, and therefore what has made us proud, shows us what we’re doing well, and boosts self-confidence. You hear of people with too much self-confidence, and they’re most likely the people who don’t acknowledge what they’ve done badly. But self-confidence is important, and it’s so crucial that everyone is confident in themselves.

What are you proud of about yourself? What do you know you’re good at, and does that make you proud to be you?

L XX

21 thoughts on “Proud

    1. Music is something that is so great to be good at, if that makes sense. I love music, and it can bring joy and happiness to so many people across the globe, as well as having the ability to spread messages and emotions – Keep it up XX

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Just something sort of relating to this, I HATE how we are constantly told to be confident in our own bodies but the moment you let peope know that you’re confident and you think you’re beautiful, they call you vain and selfish. 😦 I’ve never experienced that but I’ve seen it happening and it’s really sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know I’m pretty smart in school, and I’m proud of all my academic achievements so far, but over the years that word has been thrown around at me recklessly and I’ve grown to kind of resent it.
    But, I’m also proud of my ability to make my friends feel happy and/or smile nearly every day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t see it as attention-seeking at all to be proud. I see it as trying to be happy. And I think everyone should be proud more often. I personally, am proud that I’ve finished all my Christmas shopping (short-term) and of the way I can play my instrument (long-term) as it has taken a lot of work. X

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think that when we say stuff like that in the real world, people think we are being big headed and attention seeking, but online, here, there’s no point about that, so of course we do it. And it’s not a bad thing. It just shows how far we’ve come. We’re allowed to be proud of ourselves, it shows that we’re happy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think you have every right to be proud. I just want to say that I started reading your blog a half hour ago and I haven’t stopped yet. You seem like such an interesting person!

    I think you’re right that we should allow ourselves to be proud of ourselves. There’s a balance to be struck. And it really is silly to think that we work so hard to accomplish things so that we can be proud of ourselves, and then don’t allow ourselves to express that pride. I’m proud of how I’ve become more open than I used to be. I’m proud of how I’m less afraid.

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

