30 Days of Blogging; day 8: Fitting in?

Hey!

I guess I owe you an apology; yesterday was so hectic, from school to visitors to homework, and then straight to bed. I thought of you guys, I promise, but I was asleep too quickly! So, I thought today I’d write an early and late post, to make up for it. I wanted to talk now about fitting in, and stuff…

I’ve never exactly fitted in. Fitted in with what? Well, societies expectations, the stereotype of teenage boys, the blindness community. I know, being a blind, male-teenage blogger, a bit weird and a complete rebel kind of goes against ‘the norm’. But whwat is the norm? If you can successfully sum up the specifications for a normal human, then [a] well done you and [b] you are defying the concept of being a normal human by describing a normal human which most normal humans can’t do. But regardless, I’m not classified as normal by society, and that can be a real issue. People will stop and stare because of the blindie stuff. People will ask questions which they know are stupid, because they think it’s funny. Don’t get me wrong: I have no issue with genuine, curious questions about anything; well, not anything [naughty]!

To try and explain what I’m trying to say, can you just imagine a stereotypical blind person? Waving a white stick, bumping into walls, dark glasses, arms flying about. You got it? Or maybe you’ve gone for a blind man with a dog. That’ll do. The stereotype that many mumbers of the general public have of a blind person is exactly what you’re imagining: incapable and useless. Even some blindess organisations are subcontiously promoting this idea through their misguiding advertising campaigns. This is not true, and I like to prove that this isn’t true, through speech, actions and body language. Little things, like looking at someone speaking to you, or lookin where you’re going, or just standing straight and looking confident can make the world of difference to a sighted onlooker.

In terms of being a rebel… This was a name that I brought on myself really. I’m a teenager; I like to muck around. I like to make people laugh, and I like to make people smile, so I’ll tell a joke [in context], or do something comedic [silly] to amuse people. A lot of blind people would say that I’m stupid, and immature, and idiotic. I respect their opinions, but my outlook on the whole thing is merely that you only have one life, and I’m going to make the most of mine, and make sure that others enjoy it too. What’s the point in being dead sensible? Obviously, I’m not about to break the law or something, but I just like to mess around a bit.

Then, there are the little things that don’t make me fit in: my music taste [16-year-old girl]; I like to read; my friendship groups; my obsession with travelling… it all adds up.

But, as I said before, I am meant to try and fit in with society, to make myself a normal human. In other terms, I’m trying to fit into a shell that doesn’t exist, because normality is abnormality, if you see my point. It annoys me that so many people have conformed to societal pressure, and made themselves into what everyone wants, and not what they want, or should be. I don’t blame the people themselves; it’s not easy to really speak and be and do exactly what you want to speak and be and do. But why don’t you try it? Today. Just one thing maybe: say one thing that might not be the expected reply, if it’s what you really think. It takes a bit of work to make it happen, and a bit of courage. But try it; I promise it’s worth it in the end.

As I promised above, I’ll write again this evening; I have some exciting news from last night that I’m dying to share with you all… I can’t wait to write it!

See you Later:

L XX

One thought on “30 Days of Blogging; day 8: Fitting in?

  1. I don’t think it matters that you feel like you don’t fit in, you certainly do here in the blogging community. You sound like such a nice, genuine person and I’m excited to read more of your blogs!

    Liked by 1 person

Something to Say?

